The Beginning…

Since finishing University in July 2012, I had been working as a teacher with a charity called Refugee Women of Bristol. I taught ladies from refugee and asylum seeking backgrounds English and loved to see the difference that this made on their ability to become part of the community. I had also just started work as a Support Worker through the Open University and had never before felt so positive about going into work every day.

From these experiences, I narrowed down my job search to focus solely on Support Work roles and found a vacancy at a supported housing scheme in Warmley; Britton House. The application form was a welcome challenge; the questions inspired close analysis of my values and constructive criticism of my weaknesses so I ploughed through and made sure that the answers I gave were as honest as possible.
A week or so later, I was invited to Bromford’s ‘Assessment in a Box.’ Totally unsure what to expect, I arrived feeling hopeful. It was clear that the onus was on being yourself; I had been to so many interviews feeling compelled to wear an ill fitting suit and feeling like I was wearing someone else’s costume, feeling pressured to try to be what the employer wanted of me. Bromford’s culture encourages recruitment based upon personality rather than previous experience so I was not deterred by my lack of a longstanding Support Work background.

The day itself was like nothing I have ever experienced. But in a very good way! Tasks were set such as designing a logo in a team, a practical numeracy and literacy exercise, role play as a support worker and a pub quiz. All of these tasks provided a way for the team to evaluate how well each candidate might deal with the challenges of the role as well as how they will fit into the team.
There were several candidates that had so much more experience that me so I left the assessment day feeling like I had tried my best but that the role may be better suited to someone with experience of having worked in such an environment before. A good day none the less and I cycled home feeling upbeat with the wind in my hair.

Lo and behold, the next day I got invited to interview. The dreaded quick-fire question time that usually I loathed. To my surprise, the interview was informal, friendly and the management were down to earth and approachable. I was excited to share my experiences with them. The team were quick to let me know about the next stage which cut down on that painful -moths in the stomach every time the phone rings- torture. Cycled home and as soon as I landed Ayan was on the phone offering me the job.

Now I’ve been here for just over three months and I absolutely love it. Still got a lot to learn but I am part of a fantastic team!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Beginning…

  1. Pingback: An A* in Attitude | John Wade

Leave a comment